Works For Me Wednesday: DIY Bird Bath Dripper

WFMW

This is my first time participating in Works For Me Wednesday. I also hope I’m doing this right!

My only hobby is feeding the outdoor birds and I learned that birds are attracted to the sound of running or dripping water, so I wanted some sort of a dripper for my bird bath in hopes of attracting more birds to my yard. Well, I was surprised at the cost of the drippers (kind of expensive for us) so I had to find an alternative. I had read about this idea in a few different bird magazines and books. It is has worked pretty well for me…as long as I do not tighten the cap too tight.

It is a quart-size plastic jug/bottle that I have hanging over my bird bath dish. (Actually, you know those little hooks that you can buy to hang a hanging plant or feeder from a wooden deck rail? That is the hook I’m using since we don’t have a deck…I just planted it into the ground next to the bird bath so the jug hangs OVER the bird bath.) I just used a thumbtack and poked a hole into a bottom corner of the jug, fill it with water and voila! Instant dripper. The flow of the water will depend on how snug you tighten the cap.

I forgot to add if you use a dripper or something to make the water in your bird bath move instead of remaining still and stagnant, mosquitoes won’t lay their larva in it…they prefer still, stagnant, non-moving water on which to lay their eggs on.

Drip

Posted in Uncategorized. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Works For Me Wednesday: DIY Bird Bath Dripper”

  1. samismom22 Says:

    This is a cool idea, my daughter and I were both just reading your post. I think we may try it. We have so many birds coming to our deck this time of year. We have also have an unknown bird nest in our birdhouse. Maybe I will take a pic and send it to you, since you are my resident bird expert.

  2. biblestyle Says:

    Great tip!

    I must confess I was cracking up, when I read this post then saw what your WW pic was. Birds and cats. I don’t know what to say…it just cracked me up!

  3. Laura Says:

    I have 2 little bird baths but they don’t get any traffic at all, and I worry about the mosquito’s finding them… I will give this a try though! Thanks for the tip!

  4. Joyful Days Says:

    Good tip! I love birds.


Leave a Reply

